April 19-21, 2022
Pacifico Yokohama, Japan

Introduction to the SI-Thru Conference

Optics and related imaging technologies have played an indispensable role in the development of natural science. However, one of the fundamental problems that cannot be overcome even with the most advanced optical technology is scattering and fluctuations that disturb light propagation. Scattering theories determined by wavelength and particle size have already been established. Adaptive optics is also established to compensate the light distortion in astronomy. However, no comprehensive theory has been established to deal with scattering and fluctuations in four dimensions (three-dimensional space and time), which are ubiquitous in the real world in air, water, and living organisms.

This is the first conference of sensing and imaging through scattering and fluctuating field in biology, telecommunication, and astronomy (SI-Thru). The purpose of this conference is to present and discuss the latest techniques, theories, and results for comprehensively understanding and overcoming scattering and fluctuation phenomena that are ubiquitous in multi-scale 3D space, ranging from nanometer to kilometer size. Applications include bioimaging, spatial information communication, astronomy, and other areas related to scattering and fluctuations. Topics covered in the conference are appeared below. You are very welcome to join this conference for presentations and exchange of ideas.

Important date

Conference Date: 19-21 April, 2022

Hybrid: In-person in Pacifico Yokohama, Japan and online

Submission deadline: 28 January, 2022


Plenary & Invited Speakers

  • Plenary

    • Prof. Laura Waller (University of California, Barkeley, USA)
    • Prof. Alipasha Vaziri (The Rockefeller University, USA)
  • Invited Speakers

    • Dr. Cuong Dang (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
    • Dr. Florian Moll (Institute of Communications and Navigation, German Aerospace Center, Germany)
    • Dr. Takenaka Hideki (Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan)
    • Dr. Esteban Vera (Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Valparaiso, Chile)
    • Dr. Olivier Guyon (NAOJ, NINS, Japan, Univ. Arizona, USA)
    • Prof. Hiroyuki Kubo (Tokai University, Japan)


  • Chair

    • Osamu Matoba (Kobe University, Japan)
    • Sylvain Gigan (Sorbonne Université, France)
  • Co-chairs

    • Yasuhiro Awatsuji (Kyoto Institute of Technology, Japan)
    • Enrique Tajahuerce (Universitat Jaume I, Spain)
    • Yosuke Tamada (Utsunomiya University, Japan)
  • Advisor

    • Jun Tanida (Osaka University, Japan)
  • Program Chair

    • Yasuhiro Kamei (National Institute for Basic Biology, Japan)
  • Program co-chairs

    • Kenjiro Kimura (Kobe University, Japan)
    • Eriko Watanabe (Electro-communication University, Japan)
    • Yosihisa Takayama (Tokai University, Japan)
    • Yutaka Hayano (National Astronomical Observatory of Japan)